The Council is comprised of 14 members appointed by the Governor for staggered three-year terms. One Council position is reserved for the Governor's representative, and the rest are unpaid volunteers. At least six members must be people with physical disabilities, two members may be parents, guardians, or relatives of a person with a physical disability, and at least one member must be a service provider to people with physical disabilities. If interested in becoming a member, please visit the Join Us section of our website for a membership application and more information.

Council Members:

  • Benjamin Barrett, Chairperson
  • Kurt Roskopf, Vice Chairperson
  • Vacancy, Representing Gov. Scott Walker's Office
  • Vacancy, Provider
  • Roberto Escamilla II
  • Noah Hershkowitz
  • Ronald J. Jansen
  • John Meissner
  • Jason Ostrowski
  • Karen Secor
  • Charles Vandenplas
  • Gabriel Schlieve
  • Vacancy, Parent/Relative Representative
  • Vacancy, Parent/Relative Representative

Liaisons to the Council:

  • Barbara Belling, Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
  • Heather Bruemmer, Wisconsin Board on Aging and Long-Term Care
  • Vacancy, Wisconsin Department of Administration
  • Vacancy, Division of Safety and Professionals Services, Wisconsin Department of Administration
  • Eva Kaminski, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
  • Vacancy, Wisconsin Technical College System
  • Vacancy, University of Wisconsin Systems
  • Taqwanya Smith, Wisconsin Department of Transportation
  • Craig Wehner, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation, Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development
  • Nicholas Zouski, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Council Staff Support:

Lisa Sobczyk
Independent Living Quality Specialist
Wisconsin Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Room 551
PO Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701-2659
Phone: 608-266-9354
Fax: 608-267-3203